Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is the average cost of annual, maintenance, and hangar fees?

What is the average cost of annual, maintenance, and hangar fees?

Hello, I'm new to aviation, and was just wondering how much the average (or your) annual inspection costs. Does it vary depending on the kind of aircraft? How about for an LSA airplane? Also, what about hangar fees? How do those go? Do most people use tie-downs instead? How much do they cost? And what would you say the average maintenance fee is? That would vary, wouldn't it? Got a ball-park figure? I'm budgeting for lessons and maybe a plane, so I'd really appreciate some pointers. Thanks, and happy flying.
    *** Life is Lead Points and Habit Patterns ***

Hi, Wings;

No easy answers to your questions, since in most cases "it depends."

When I had a C-172, my annual was about $700-800. That included the inspection and normal annual maintenance items like repacking the bearings, changing the oil, etc. A more complex aircraft and it goes up from there. I believe Bonanzas can run around $3000 - more because of the retractable gear, constant speed prop, more "systems" to inspect, etc. I know for a fact there are Bo's that run much less than that, but typically there will be *something* on an older plane that needs fixin'.

Also, before I get raked for this, the annual inspection is one cost; annual maintenance and fixing stuff requiring attention are another. So, you *could* have just an inspection done by the A&P/IA, then have other things done by yourself (maintenance) or another A&P of your choosing.