Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How did you get started?

Goggles How did you get started?

Would like to hear how others got their start with the EAA. I started reading my father's issues of sport aviation as a child in the 80's. In the 90's as a teen I spent my free time after school at the airport. Took a long break and recently started living out my dream. 28 hours logged so far and counting. I hope to start building soon as well.
    “It's the greatest shot of adrenaline to be doing what you have wanted to do so badly. You almost feel like you could fly without a plane.”

-Charles Lindbergh

In 1985 I went to see my Aero I professor at Auburn. I was a sophomore in Aerospace Engineering.

He had stacks of a magazine called, "Sport Aviation." He let me borrow one, and I signed up right away to get my own copies.

In 1988 I went to a presentation by an EAA member who worked at my company. He had slides to show from this airshow in Wisconsin.

My first convention was that year. I spent four days in a tent beside a rental car with my mom and dad. I was in a three-foot hover the whole time.

I've made it 24 of the 28 years since.....
    Last edited by Antique Tower; 04-30-2016 at 01:35 AM.

Ever since I was in high school I wanted to learn to fly but did not have the opportunity until I finished college and started my working career. An older friend at work was building a Thorp T18 and invited me to the EAA meetings and over to his house to help buck rivits. I have always loved the various homebuilts but knew I did not have the spare time to commit to a demanding project like that. Shortly after that I purchased a C150 and my wife's uncle taught me to fly. The rest is history. Even though I knew I didn't have the time to build an experimental, I did refurbish a PA28 Cherokee from the ground up. At least that way I was able to fly a plane while I was refurbishing it.