Thread: Looking for anyones input for a design

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Rolls Eyes Looking for anyones input for a design

Greetings!

Not sure how to start my post, or where i should start it but it’s my first time so here we go.
    I’d like to mention first, that I am not an aeronautical engineer nor claim to be one.
    This is a personal project I’ve been working on for a while now, in secret and would like anyone's input, be it the good, the bad or the ugly.

so now for a story.....of how this design came to be

Since age 8 during my first flight in a piper warrior, I was bit by the freedom of flight, since then I had always wanted to build a plane, but never really knew how much work it took to design, or to even build one alone.
    So in 2015 age 25 I had the idea to get in contact with an aerospace engineering firm, I wanted to get a quote for a design that I had in my head, they quoted me around $100K

So after dyeing a little bit inside, I figured if it’s that much money, I can do it myself. (boy I had no idea what I was getting my self in to.)
    so I purchased Solid works and got to work teaching myself how to use CAD.
    A year later i put my project on hold and signed up for College, I then went straight in to the Aviation Science program where I acquired my PPL.

After getting my PPL I resumed my project and dove deeper in to aircraft building and engineering.
    I started buying every book I could find on aerospace engineering, from aircraft structures to aerodynamics.
    but I still wanted to know more, so i started asking around and was usually told, just to buy a kit and modify said kit, then to design my own aircraft.
    plus it was less of a head ache.