Thread: Transitioning to the 3D Experience Version

Transitioning to the 3D Experience Version

The licence of my EAA Edu desktop version of Solidworks is about to expire. I’m new to SW so I’d like to keep going with it despite the shortcomings discussed on these pages.

Has anyone transitioned to the 3D Experience version and if so, how was the “experience”? Any tips and tricks you can pass on?

The experience has some very ugly aspects, especially if your internet connection is less than ideal. You will require an internet connection to start the software even though it is completely installed to your local machine. Startup is SLOW. There will be mysterious pauses sometimes - I don't know why but occasionally everything just stops when I perform an operation, perhaps there is some server round-trip going on to verify that I am not a software pirate while drawing. The files menu is less populated than it was. You will by default save to the Solidworks Cloud, and this takes forever. Even when you specify "Save to this PC" it will make you save again before exporting to STL for printing even when you literally just saved.
    The web site is generally awful. Obviously the back end is simply slow and no amount of local speed would help. Solidworks will try to guide you into communities and maker forums but it's really not something that interests me. I have no need to understand their implementation of roles, I am not working with a team of designers at $5k a seat. I have avoided the 3DExperience web site except to download the software. The forums there have a fair proportion of users that are only there to complain about how bad the web experience is, or how they used to use a tool that is no longer available and is now priced far out of a hobbyist's pocket.