PDA

View Full Version : Glasair Wing Heavy

glasairguy
11-28-2011, 12:03 AM
I have been flying my Glasair for about 3 years, however not much in the last year due to an engine issue I am still trying to diagnose. Anyway, In about the last year the left wing has become heavier, or maybe I am just noticing it more. I can't remember making any real adjustments, except for the elevator. The left side seems to be lower than the right about a 1/4" or less. The only other item would be natural relaxation of the motor mounts. Any ideas on if this could cause the heaviness? If not any ideas on what to try?

Dave

Todd copeland
11-28-2011, 06:38 AM
Is your glasair an ft? I had a g1ft and many of them with the gear the kit came with end up sitting low on one side or another. Nothing to worry about, just don't fill the gas as high or it will overflow unless you have fuel float valves. As for a heavy wing in flight it is probably that you are flying a little out of trim. Use that rudder! The fuel tank on most glasairs are just one large tank in the leading edge of the wing. If you take off and forget to use enough rudder you will sling the fuel to the left wing. It's an unnerving feeling the first time it happens but if you fly for a while not in a slip or slip to the other side, the fuel will drain back to the middle of the tank and the wing won't feel heavy. (I know this from first hand experience) good luck, hope you get the engine problem worked out soon.

Ed Jeffko
12-01-2011, 08:31 PM
You didn't say model or age. Are you talking about flying or sitting on the ground? I have an early G1TD. I rigged the flt controls by the book. At 180 mph IAS the rt wing was heavy, so I leveled the a/c in the hanger and measured from the floor up. The lft flap was lower than the rt, so I raised it to match the rt side. Now at 180 the wings are level but at pattern speed with flaps down the lft wing is heavy. Anyone have a simple aileron trim system?

Ed

vaflier
12-01-2011, 10:09 PM