PDA

View Full Version : Adding a second throttle control for center stick aircraft.

thisadviceisworthles
11-30-2018, 05:24 PM
I'm looking for a first airplane, but I am still a student pilot. I would like something that I can recieve training in.

I have dismissed some center stick configured planes simply because they have a single throttle control (an therefore cannot be flown from the right seat). I am starting to wonder, how hard would it be to add a throttle control on the other side?

My logic suggests it would just be a matter of running a second trhottle cable, but I worry that I am overlooking something.

Mike M
11-30-2018, 06:02 PM
One may install a second throttle. It's been done.

https://proxy.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.ning.com%2Ffiles%2FGsOTZj07vnG 2VAenleMl*kncuY5aARGW7BMuSRM*9npiAmbzP1qD1XOzvclSO vtgcjlMarce6asr0RG0xspkB965y6lOHEB6%2Fbuildch70145 3.jpg%3Fwidth%3D737%26height%3D552&f=1

thisadviceisworthles
11-30-2018, 06:04 PM
Is it as simple as I think it is?

TedK
12-01-2018, 11:19 AM
Many (most?) of the SOCATA Rallye (and PZL Koliber) aircraft have two “left hand throttles”.
The Left side throttle is a rod connected to a bellcrank which converts its fore and aft motion to lateral motion. There is a second Rod that goes from the left bellcrank to a bellcrank in the center. The center throttle also attaches to the center bellcrank, as does the Throttle cable which goes forward to the carb.

Ted

martymayes
12-01-2018, 03:34 PM
If it’s an e-a/b airplane, make sure you can find a CFIs and examiner willing to go along with your plan.

1600vw
12-01-2018, 03:42 PM
Is it as simple as I think it is?

Nothing in aviation is simple.

DaleB
12-01-2018, 04:53 PM
One must wonder about the reasoning behind having a single center stick without a throttle arrangement that makes it usable from either seat.

Mike M
12-01-2018, 06:34 PM