PDA

View Full Version : Ailerons: Yea of Nay

JohnnyB
08-23-2018, 01:21 PM
Hi Fellow Fliers,
This is my first post here so excuse me if I get a thing or two wrong.

I have been a Pvt Pilot flying GA since the 80s and have about 400 hours. Recreational flyer only.
Lately I don't fly Cessnas and Pipers as much but have gotten interested in Ultralights.
I flew a couple weeks ago in a Quicksilver MX II with an experienced instructor and it was all
I had hoped it would be. I'm continuing my training and am starting to look at planes,
and I'm seeing just as many 2-axis [lanes out there as I see 3-axis ultralights out there.

The instructor said more than once "Ya don't need ailerons on these ultralights" (even tho we had ailerons.)

My question is what is your opinion on the necessity of ailerons and why?

It should be noted that I will likely buy a Quicksilver because of their long history and proven quality.

Thanks all
John - Columbus Ohio

rwanttaja
08-23-2018, 01:48 PM
It is simple enough to design an aircraft to not need ailerons...thousands of RC planes, for example, have rudder and elevators only. It really depends on the aircraft.

Ron Wanttaja

martymayes
08-23-2018, 02:54 PM
The two-axis planes are fine. Another ultralight from that era, the Skypup used 2 axis control.

Norman Langlois
08-23-2018, 04:51 PM
Since I do not know and have not flown a 2 axis. What is the recovery from wind conditions that would be making the 2 axis roll suddenly?
Would this be the time one wished they had ailerons .
I have told people I do not need an item. Because I would not be using under specific conditions etc.
Assuming the 2 axis would behave the same as my plane when flying at 90 degree to the prevailing wind condition.
Is the answer as simple as do not fly a 2 axis in windy conditions ?
Norm

JohnnyB
08-23-2018, 05:04 PM
The two-axis planes are fine. Another ultralight from that era, the Skypup used 2 axis control.

And the Weedhopper as I recall

robert l