PDA

View Full Version : Corben Jr ace build.

Tench745
12-06-2017, 05:57 PM
Hi all, I'm a first time builder embarking on my first project, a plans-built Corben Jr Ace. I will have a lot of questions as I progress which I intend to post in this thread. Hopefully people will have some answers that they're willing to trade for progress updates. First question is about built up ribs.
The Jr ace has ribs built from 1/4" x 1/4" capstrips with 1/16" ply gussets. I'm assembling with T-88 and aircraft nails. I'm curious how much of an issue there is with the nails splitting the intercostals?

cdlwingnut
12-06-2017, 08:09 PM
My ultra-piet project used 1/4 by 1/4 capstrip for ribs, I used t-88 and then used staples instead of nails, no splitting problems. If you decide to change to staples put a toothpick under them to make it easier to pull them when the t-88 is cured.

martymayes
12-06-2017, 10:39 PM
Trick you can use if you encounter splitting is run the point of the nail over a grinding wheel. The dull point will crush the wood fiber when it's driven vs. separating the fibers which causes splitting.

Tench745
12-07-2017, 04:50 PM
Martymayes, is the intent to just round the tip, or flatten it completely?
Followup question, if the intercostals do split under the gussets should they be replaced or is the gusset holding the two halves together still sufficiently structural? (Basically, I mussed up, how do I fix it?)

martymayes
12-07-2017, 09:03 PM
Martymayes, is the intent to just round the tip, or flatten it completely?

You want to disrupt the point's wedge shape because that is what splits the wood, just like using a wedge to split firewood.

Frank Giger
12-07-2017, 09:47 PM
Hurray!

Please, lots of pictures and descriptions of your build!

I did it, and it was invaluable - folks saw some mistakes I was making and corrected them, and gave advice on better ways of doing things.