PDA

View Full Version : Driving to Airventure

robert l
04-03-2017, 06:23 AM
This is my first time posting and I'm also new to the group so it's very possible I'm doing something wrong. But hey, I can take criticism ! Last year we drove from S.C. to Airventure, not bad but still it's a L O N G trip. Do any of y'all know of a good way to get around Chicago? I know with most cities the time of day or night will have a lot to do with how well the traffic flows so I am wondering if anyone here has some personal experience. Anything to make the experience less stressful. Any advice, ideas, suggestions or smart remarks are welcome.
Thanks,
Bob

1600vw
04-03-2017, 07:10 AM
This is so easy its almost funny..All you do is AVOID Chicago all together. If it was me coming up from SC I would not take that route. Go through Indy then head east on route 72 I believe it is. It's been a long time. IMHO take this route and have a very good trip. This is the route I take out of Central Illinois.

1600vw
04-03-2017, 07:13 AM
Well heck, That pic shows squat. Let me try this again.

https://www.google.com/maps/dir/Rockford,+Illinois/South+Carolina/@37.7896299,-89.5845768,6z/data=!4m15!4m14!1m5!1m1!1s0x8808b9cdfd0300db:0xaca d897828f6780!2m2!1d-89.0939952!2d42.2711311!1m5!1m1!1s0x88f8a5697931d1 e3:0xb9ffa132f505179e!2m2!1d-81.1637245!2d33.836081!3e0!5i1

DaleB
04-03-2017, 07:17 AM
Yeah... go around it. I don't know that there IS a good time to go through Chicago, unless you want to do it late at night.

1600vw
04-03-2017, 07:23 AM
What you will save in toll roads alone you can go out for a nice lunch. Have a fun and enjoyable trip. Life goes by so fast, soak in every second like a very nice sip of wine.

wyoranch
04-03-2017, 07:24 AM