PDA

View Full Version : Which LSA to build?

Jack H
11-11-2011, 11:42 AM
I am a Vari-eze builder, Ercoupe and straight tail 172 owner who wants a new project. I seek advice on what LSA to build. Here are some of my criteria.

Plans build or kit (I want to build it, not design it, not that smart)
Tube and fabric (return to our roots)
High wing, enclosed, door (think J3, Pacer, etc.)
Single seat with baggage space (so maybe two-place)
LSA
Low empty weight, 1320 gross, 300 NM practical range, faster the better (of course)

Any recommendations?

Dave Prizio
11-11-2011, 12:04 PM
Some tube and fabric kits worth considering include:

Texas Sport Cub (Legend), CubCrafters Carbon Cub EX, RANS S-7S, Wag Aero Sport Trainer, Just Highlander, and Dakota Cubs (LSA-eligible model). Some of these will be hard pressed to make it 300 NM unless you add some extra fuel capacity, and none is very fast, but they meet your other criteria.

If you want fast, remember there is a 120 knot CAS speed limit, the RV-12 or the Arion Lightning would be worth looking at.

Dave Prizio

HighWing
11-14-2011, 01:29 PM
Jack,
A little prejudice here for sure, but from your needs, you have perfectly described a Kitfox - either the Model IV or the LSA designated Series 7 or anything in between if you do the final build and designate the Max gross wt. If you don't need to be within the Sport Pilot limits, the 7 has a design max gross weight of 1550 lbs. and will allow all the camping gear you will ever need on board plus a friend. With the LSA version, if built carefully, you can still have about 500 lbs of useful load. Either will easily fly the 300 NM if you can. In my experience they can be on the faster side of the tube and fabric spectrum.
Lowell

MrMorden
11-15-2011, 07:41 AM
Sounds like a Highlander to me.

WWhunter
11-15-2011, 09:39 AM