PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Class Medical Reform now Law!

TedK
07-15-2016, 04:41 PM
Signed by Prez! Well done EAA and AOPA!

https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/signed-legislation

ted

CarlOrton
07-15-2016, 06:00 PM
OK; so now the questions start.

I read the law from the link TedK posted above.

Background: I'm a Private Pilot. My last Class III medical was issued 12/2004, and expired 12/2006. So I'm covered by the 10-year part of the law. I've been flying under Sport Pilot provisions since 2007.

Reading the law, I'm under the impression that I cannot fly as a Private Pilot again until I have a comprehensive medical exam, signed certificate, and complete the medical education class that will be issued online.

Since neither the checklist (format) or online class exist at this date, am I correct in asserting that I cannot fly as PP until things are formalized in the next 180 days, and I complete both of those requirements?

wallda
07-15-2016, 06:34 PM
OK; so now the questions start.

I read the law from the link TedK posted above.

Background: I'm a Private Pilot. My last Class III medical was issued 12/2004, and expired 12/2006. So I'm covered by the 10-year part of the law. I've been flying under Sport Pilot provisions since 2007.

Reading the law, I'm under the impression that I cannot fly as a Private Pilot again until I have a comprehensive medical exam, signed certificate, and complete the medical education class that will be issued online.

Since neither the checklist (format) or online class exist at this date, am I correct in asserting that I cannot fly as PP until things are formalized in the next 180 days, and I complete both of those requirements?