PDA

View Full Version : Damaged Sonex questions

mmarmino
08-26-2015, 08:54 AM
Hello all. I have some questions about an aircraft I came across that is Canada.
http://417913223742466573.weebly.com

I'm trying to find out exactly what it would take to get this plane here and the requirements for getting it back in the air. I am a first time builder but have experience in sheet metal work. I appreciate any and all input. Thanks.

martymayes
08-26-2015, 09:38 AM
I think you'll need a truck and/or trailer to get it here!

Are the plans set included? Simply inspect and repair as needed.

Start the repairs and get a copy of FAA AC 20-27G. Start reading at paragraph 16 on page 29. That will walk you through the procedure for getting it registered in the US.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB4QFjAAahUKEwi-k9zWiMfHAhUREJIKHaRpApE&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.faa.gov%2Fdocumentlibrary%2Fm edia%2Fadvisory_circular%2Fac%252020-27g.pdf&ei=x9vdVf6TN5GgyASk04mICQ&usg=AFQjCNH9SOj6gzVdJV0Rha4f_TbsGXbp_g&sig2=fUvnatBpHPsAWM3djQnaIA

Looks like a great project to work on!

mmarmino
08-26-2015, 10:53 AM
Haha, yeah it'll be a little bit of a drive from Kentucky. But from what I can see it would be worth it. I mean with the plans I could just make all the required parts. I just want to make sure that there aren't any "hidden" expenses with importing it.

mmarmino
08-26-2015, 11:38 AM
Now would i, not being the original builder be able to perform the necessary repairs?

cub builder
08-26-2015, 12:32 PM
Despite not having the repairman certificate, you can perform any work to the aircraft. You might want to work with an A&P oversight simply because you will need an A&P to sign the condition inspection we all perform annually, but aren't allowed to call annual inspections on this forum. ;)

-Cub Builder

martymayes
08-27-2015, 11:31 AM
Now would i, not being the original builder be able to perform the necessary repairs?