PDA

View Full Version : College Students on a Budget

Mtns2Skies
03-24-2015, 08:42 AM
Hello,
I'm a mechanical engineering student at Colorado State University and a SEL Commercially rated pilot. Myself along with another private pilot from the school have scrounged up enough to travel to Oshkosh this year in a rented Piper Arrow. As we are on a fairly strict budget, I had a couple questions about things I was unable to locate on EAA's website.

We will have our airventure tickets purchased beforehand, but how much is it to camp at the aircraft per night?

I see that bringing food will cut down on costs significantly, any other tips to keep it as cheap as possible?

I don't suppose there are any college student discounts are there?

On a separate note,
We are hoping to arrive in the "fray" of it to get the full experience, but would also like a near certainty that we will get a parking spot. What is the best time to arrive Monday to assure both of these things?

Any other tips for Airventure beginners would be fantastic!

EDIT: Also, I noticed a statement about only having one tent. We will likely have 1-2 more passengers so 2 small tents that will easily fit in the footprint of the Arrow will be best for us. Is this allowable?

Thank you!

Austin Levin

FlyingRon
03-25-2015, 09:00 AM
To camp you need to be EAA members. Of course, they will happily sell you a membership at the registration if you haven't got one already (same with your admission wristbands). Camping is $26 /per day/ per unit. No discounts, there is a student discount on admission though.
A unit in the airplane area is your plane and a tent, you can usually get by with two tents (tell them they are family).