PDA

View Full Version : Pros / Cons of Homebuilt vs. certified

Gator88
01-20-2015, 01:28 PM
Hi All - I am new to EAA and am hoping for some insight. I have been flying for about 15 years and currently fly a Cherokee Six. With my kids about ready to go to college, my mission will be changing in the next few years and I am looking to get into something a little smaller and faster. I am considering either building an RV-10 or buying a certificated aircraft (maybe a Mooney or something Mooney-like). My question is this: other than the ability to do my own maintenance, what are the pros / cons of having a homebuilt vs. buying a certificated aircraft? My wife and I are talking about making some flights to the Bahamas, and I have read that taking a homebuilt into another country may have its challenges. Any thoughts on this? Are there any real disadvantages to having an RV vs. a certificated aircraft?

Sam Buchanan
01-20-2015, 01:43 PM
Hi All - I am new to EAA and am hoping for some insight. I have been flying for about 15 years and currently fly a Cherokee Six. With my kids about ready to go to college, my mission will be changing in the next few years and I am looking to get into something a little smaller and faster. I am considering either building an RV-10 or buying a certificated aircraft (maybe a Mooney or something Mooney-like). My question is this: other than the ability to do my own maintenance, what are the pros / cons of having a homebuilt vs. buying a certificated aircraft? My wife and I are talking about making some flights to the Bahamas, and I have read that taking a homebuilt into another country may have its challenges. Any thoughts on this? Are there any real disadvantages to having an RV vs. a certificated aircraft?

Welcome to the EAA!

You have asked a question that has complex answers, many of which will be dependent on your particular background and expectations.