PDA

View Full Version : Wing sail replacement

frankenparts
03-06-2014, 10:46 AM
Hi All, I am new to all of this and probably shouldn't have, but I bought a Sabre Trike. It has a wing but the sail needs to be replaced. The owner didn't know anything about the plane except it runs. I could tell the wing was toast but for the price I figured it would be worth it. ANYWAY, I have looked EVERYWHERE online and need to find a place to recover my wing. I believe it is a s16 wing ( the spars are 16' long and The sail is the same as the pictures I have found online). Is there any company out there that does wing recovers or should I just buy a new wing. Like I said I'm new to all this and will be taking lessons and training this spring and hope to be flying by the end of the summer... time permitting of course.

martymayes
03-06-2014, 05:01 PM
You should be able to buy new sails for your wing. I guess you might want to have someone inspect your wing structure to make sure it's good to go. Not sure where you are but you should be able to find a shop in your region.

If you don't need your trike to train in, ask around while you are training and you'll get a feel for what kind of options you have.

Buzz
03-11-2014, 12:29 PM
Is there any company out there that does wing recovers or should I just buy a new wing. Like I said I'm new to all this and will be taking lessons and training this spring and hope to be flying by the end of the summer... time permitting of course.Try The Ultralight Store, (951) 925-7780. Ron Gonci makes replacement sails for a lot of ultralights. He may make them for yours or knows who does. He's been sailmaking since the early 70s and I've always been pleased with his quality.

-Buzz

jedi
03-13-2014, 12:18 AM