PDA

View Full Version : Camp Scholler Three-day Minimum.

Skyler Cannon
08-10-2013, 09:52 AM
A couple of years ago we arrived on Sunday evening and early on opening day had gotten one of those phone calls no one wants to get. We had to pack up and leave even before the gates opened. I was wondering, just what purpose does the 3-day minimum serve?

FlyingRon
08-10-2013, 03:23 PM
Assures revenue. There are some items that are fixed costs in the campground that they need to recover even if you only do one overnight. I've been camping at the EAA for 21 years and there's always been the minimum.

Skyler Cannon
08-11-2013, 08:31 AM
Ok, Assures revenue. Had that one figured out but what are the "some items that are fixed costs in the campground" that requires a single night stay for $75 or a 3 night stay for $75? I would think a 3 night stay would use more resources than a one night stand. A restaurant doesn't charge you for 3 meals when you only eat one, at least where I'm from. Been going since 2000 and always stay 4-5 nights but when you have an emergency it makes you think.

Jim Hann
08-11-2013, 10:15 AM
Not to change the topic but has anybody had this situation with one of the hotels in the area or the dorms? I'm just curious what their cancellation policies are during the show.

Jim

FlyingRon
08-11-2013, 11:19 AM
I can't believe you wouldn't be charged at least a night (I think the HGI is running close to $400, $359 + tax, dealer prep, etc...) and wouldn't be surprised if the whole reservation was non-refundable.

CarlOrton
08-11-2013, 11:31 AM
Not to change the topic but has anybody had this situation with one of the hotels in the area or the dorms? I'm just curious what their cancellation policies are during the show.

Jim

The dorms have a three night minimum reservation/payment. If you cancel after June 15th, they keep one night's charge but refund the rest of your deposits (must be fully paid for whatever number of nights you reserved prior to June 15th).