PDA

View Full Version : Flight 800 Speculation

Bill Greenwood
06-20-2013, 07:56 AM
In 1996 a TWA airliner took off from N Y and then broke up in the air and crashed into the ocean.
The official cause of the crash was an internal flaw, I think it was found to be an electrical short that resulted in an internal fuel tank explosion.

Now there is a new movie or report the claims that the plane was shot down by a missile. I am not an expert on this and haven't researched it, other than just the news reports.
But, most likely it is nonsense, just as when these rumors started after the accident.

Three things:
1 If a missile hit the plane, the wreckage, which has mostly been recovered, would show that impact.
2. If a US ship fired the missile and there was secrecy about this, it would have to involve hundreds of people on the ship and the radar tracking.

And 3rd, and what I want to focus on today is that when this happened I was a member of the T-34 Association. One of our other members was a photographer and writer, who wrote the missile story. The source was a member who had been in the military and claimed to have inside knowledge of the missile firing and result. It had a ring of truth to it, at least for 6 months or so. Both people were EAA members.

Finally the man admitted that he made the whole story up, it was not a twist or an exaggeration of the facts, it was created out of thin air. No real explanation was given of his motive. I don't think he was seeking any money or was paid any.

I can't recall his name. I know the author's name, but I am not going to give it since I think they wrote the story with sincere believe in the source. I have one of their warbird photographs on my wall now and consider them a friend, but I recall the story when I look at it.

People love consipiracy and cover up stories, especially when they are aimed at the govt.

Joe Delene
06-20-2013, 10:50 AM