PDA

View Full Version : WAR Aircraft replicas international information

holtzy822
04-29-2013, 09:16 PM
hi guys this is my first post on here but i just wanted to see if anyone has any information on the WAR aircraft replicas, Im an active member on the Homebuiltairplanes forum but there arent alot of people who seem to know alot about them like flight characteristic and the reason to why there aren't many flying. if anyone has any information that would be great, thanks.

Victor Bravo
04-30-2013, 11:46 AM
I have no direct personal experience with them, so this is opinion only. However, they tended to come out a little heavy in a lot of cases, because you were essentially building two airplanes with one engine. You had a wooden Volksplane or KR-1 that was the primary structure, and then you built a foam and glass Vari-Eze cosmetic superstructure on top of it. So there would seem to be a propensity to have a heavier-than-necessary airplane.

With the benefit of 30 years' hindsight, a builder today might choose to build a wooden replica or a composite replica, but not both at the same time.

Today's advances in CNC routers, and CAD-based design, would allow the parts and jigs for a rounded wooden fuselage to be made much more easily, OR allow a CNC mold to be built for a vacuum bagged composite fuselage shell much more quickly than back in the days of WAR.

Like many others, I would LOVE to see this technology used to make kits for mini-warbird replicas today, using the Rotec radial engine or the GM aluminum V-8!

CDS
05-01-2013, 08:47 PM
Seek and ye shall find:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvF0uUO1QIs

http://www.scalewings.com/mu%20welcome%20englisch.htm

Hal Bryan
05-02-2013, 07:18 AM