PDA

View Full Version : Elevator Trim Tab Deflection Angle

wantobe
11-28-2012, 08:22 AM
I am designing an experimental two seater tractor, conventional horizontal tail. What is a normal range for the elevator trim tab deflection angle?

martymayes
11-28-2012, 08:59 AM
What is a normal range for the elevator trim tab deflection angle?

A cessna 172 trim tab has a total travel range of 41 degrees. 28 up, 13 down.

rv8bldr
11-28-2012, 09:34 AM
A cessna 172 trim tab has a total travel range of 41 degrees. 28 up, 13 down.

You need to be careful, though. It will depend upon the size of your trim tab, the size of your elevator, and the aerodynamic authority that your elevator will have. The original Bearhawk trim tabs were enormous and needed very, very little movement to have en effect. Bob Barrows has since essentially halved the size of them and they are still very effective, and don't use nearly all of their available travel.

All that said, I'm not an aeronautical engineer, nor do I play one on TV...

WLIU
11-28-2012, 12:53 PM
I will offer the suggestion that there are multiple factors that go into sizing a trim surface.

1 - You obviously want it to be large enough so that you get the effect that you want with minimum deflection. More deflection means more drag which is bad. So from that point of view, larger is better. You also want the trim to be effective enough to be able to fly the airplane using only the trim system in case you have a partial failure of the main control system. I understand that one of Sean Tucker's bail-outs was in part because his elevator trim did not have sufficient authority to fly a stable approach to landing. I know of a case where an Extra 300 pilot broke the control stick off starting a maneuver and did fly home on trim only. So you want enough, but not too much.