PDA

View Full Version : "May I see your licence Mr. Examiner?"

Janet Davidson
06-19-2012, 02:19 PM
Shamelessly "swiped" from another forum as I thought it may come in handy one day.... This occurred in Europe somewhere.

May I see your licence Mr. Examiner?

I've been flying for twenty years now and I thought I've seen it all. The other week I learnt that there is still a way to top it all:

I've got two students ready to take there checkride. The Aviation Authority designates a Flight Examiner, an appointment is made. The Examiner shows up in time but without any personal belongings (no logbook, no wallet). So I figured it might be a good idea to ask him a few questions about his flying experience on the Hughes 269 etc. and finally ask him to sign a statement that he had made 3 take-offs and landings on type within the last 90 days.

He refuses to sign, gets all mad and threatens to leave and to cancel the checkrides. http://images.ibsrv.net/ibsrv/res/src:www.pprune.org/get/images/smilies/eek.gif
Now that really made me curious. So I tell him that by the way he behaves one has to assume that he doesn't even have a valid type rating which he neither acknowledges nor denies.
A couple of offences later he finally leaves.

So I call up the Aviation Authority to tell them the news that their Examiner wasn't able / willing to prove that he is current on type and ask for a new Examiner. About two hours later they call me back and confirm that the Examiner doesn't even hold a type rating on the Hughes269 http://www.pprune.org/forums/images/smilies2/eusa_wall.gifhttp://www.pprune.org/forums/images/smilies2/eusa_wall.gifhttp://www.pprune.org/forums/images/smilies2/eusa_wall.gif

Ladies and Gentlemen, make sure your Examiner is properly rated and current.

FlyingRon
06-19-2012, 02:35 PM