PDA

View Full Version : Plane rentals at $27 while inspiring others to fly

WingsAloft
03-18-2012, 08:19 AM
It seems to me that, of those of us who are both unrich and not the happy owners of a plane, that many times we are driving by and not into the local airport more often than we'd want to think about. But I have an idea that I'm confident most of you have thought out yourselves: The Piper Warrior at DAN rents out at $110 an hour. That's alot for any one person to pay. Now, for a 40 min flight, with the cost split between four people, did you know it would only be $18? Soooooo....why not let the public in on this opportunity? Couldn't you print out some homemade flyers saying something like "Hey, I'm a FAA certified pilot offering $15 plane rides! Have you ever seen Anytown from the air before? Now is your chance!" Leave a stack for people to take, at Kroger, Dick's sporting goods, your church, wherever. Maybe your flyer could advertize a dedicated twitter account or something. You could have a picture of yourself beside your favorite rental, and maybe some aerial shots, too. Obviously you can't take the whole town flying, so maybe you could say something like, "Reserve your seat now! Seats fill up fast!" or "Nine seats available this Saturday! Email me to reserve yours" with people emailing (or tweeting, etc.) you to let you know they're coming, on a first come, first serve basis. Well, it's an idea, and if it works out, you will get a major break with rental costs, while disabusing the public of certain notions, maybe even sparking the desire to fly among dozens of people! Or save your airport! What could be better that that?

Joe LaMantia
03-18-2012, 08:51 AM