PDA

View Full Version : Maupin Woodstock

wadeg
02-21-2012, 10:19 PM
I am getting ahold of some Woodstock plans for the 13m version. Does anyone have any additional helpful info such as the build notes or your own documentation/photos? I'll pay for copies and the postage!

Furthermore, other than the efforts to lighten the Duster and get rid of its fixed wing center and the change in airfoil, what did Maupin do to the Duster? Any change in its spar?

Regards
Wade

jlantzok
02-23-2012, 10:40 PM
I have a set of drawings and a file on the little guy somewhere. I don't remember the spar arrangement, but I'll dig the stuff out in a week, or so. Perhaps I can forward it to you. Irv Culver performed some of the first check flights and wrote them up for Soaring, and I'm fairly sure I've got that, and other goodies, in the file. I will be out of pocket for a little over a week, but if this thread is still up, I'll update you then. This is my first attempt to respond to a forum, so I hope I have done so appropriately.

SGS 1-35C
02-24-2012, 01:50 PM
Dear Wade:

The Experimental Soaring Association (nee' Sailplane Homebuilder's Association) is the best clearing house for info on this type. I do not know if anyone has flown a 13m version yet. It has a carbon-fiber spar.

Not sure what you are referring to regarding the Duster. Different animal entirely.

tonycondon
02-24-2012, 03:38 PM
Yea I think Maupin worked at DSK Aviation building Duster kits for a while and from the shape of the fuselage etc. drew his inspiration for the Woodstock as a lightweight Duster but I don't know of any similarities beyond that.

Dean G
02-25-2012, 01:02 AM
Wade: I have plans for the 12 and 13 m Woodstock along with much info found on the net thru the years. Have not started to build yet just in the gathering info mode now. Also have digitized the build manual as well as other info that is in digital form. Can share it. Soaring mag had a story about the Woodstock, have a copy of it also.