Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Forum header image not loading

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Eric Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Toledo, WA
    Posts
    204

    Forum header image not loading

    The logo that normally appears at the top-left of the forum is no longer loading. The URL for that image...

    http://www.eaa.org/images/forumsheader2.png

    ...returns a 404 error.
    Eric Page
    Building Kitfox Series 5
    Member: EAA, AOPA, ALPA
    ATP: MEL / Comm: SEL, Glider / ATCS: CTO
    Map of Landings

  2. #2
    Eric Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Toledo, WA
    Posts
    204
    A month later, this problem still exists. Does EAA HQ still monitor the Support and Feedback forum?
    Eric Page
    Building Kitfox Series 5
    Member: EAA, AOPA, ALPA
    ATP: MEL / Comm: SEL, Glider / ATCS: CTO
    Map of Landings

  3. #3
    FlyingRon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NC26 (Catawba, NC)
    Posts
    2,435
    What page are you looking at where this image is trying to be loaded? All the pages I load use "http://spirit.eaa.org/images/eaaforum_logo.png"

  4. #4
    Mike Switzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    967
    Everything is loading properly for me

  5. #5
    rwanttaja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    2,597
    For me, this problem has existed forever. On my desktop running Firefox or Microsoft Edge, the "EAA Forums - Powered by vBulletin" text link is there, but no image. On my Ipad, I get a broken picture icon and no text. My Kindle Fire gives a broken image icon and the text link, and Firefox on my Samsung phone (Android) gives the text link but no image.

    When the link is clicked on either my desktop or phone, it goes to the main page for the forum.

    Otherwise, I don't notice the problem...just the broken link symbol. But when I click the png image link Eric posted, I get a warning message that the image cannot be displayed due to errors.

    Ron Wanttaja

  6. #6
    Eric Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Toledo, WA
    Posts
    204
    Yep, I'm seeing it exactly as Ron (Seattle) described. The image doesn't load and the URL for the image returns an error if loaded directly.

    If I had to guess, I'd say that the forum is probably hosted in more than one data center, and members on the east coast are being served from a different location than those of us out west. Somehow that file didn't get synced properly between them.
    Eric Page
    Building Kitfox Series 5
    Member: EAA, AOPA, ALPA
    ATP: MEL / Comm: SEL, Glider / ATCS: CTO
    Map of Landings

  7. #7
    rwanttaja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    2,597
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Page View Post
    A month later, this problem still exists. Does EAA HQ still monitor the Support and Feedback forum?
    Not sure what the staffing level is at EAA headquarters now. The people who might normally fix this might be on furlough...

    Ron Wanttaja

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •