Thread: Need Guidance

Need Guidance

Hi
    I am a hobbyist and am stuck up . I have an appliance which is a “ U” shaped groove . I need to make a positive of it with a couple of grooves for a “O” ring type suction rings.
    I had the part scanned and have the positive for it as an .stl file. Which I have imported to solidworks2012 and is saved as a .sldprt file.( Assembly.1)
    I have designed the negative for the suction ring and this is also saved as .sldprt file.(Assembly.2)
    Please refer to the pictures attached pictures
    My problem:-

1. When I go to assembly and open both the .sldprt files the feature manager shows both the files are open.
    2. Both the files are fixed
    3. I make one file ( suction ring) as float.
    4. Unable to see the sketch/model(suction ring)
    5. Suction ring designed is in millimeters with a diameter of 3mm while the other part is a of a diameter of 1cm . I have changed the color of the suction ring to dark red but still it is not visible. Can somebody please tell me what Is the issue here.
    6. I need to insert the suction ring part into the positive of the scan so as to get a pitted surface which can be 3D printed to obtain a mould/negative die for the part.(Assembly part representation.3)

Can somebody guide me. I have solidworks 2012
    Attached Images Attached Images    

SOLIDWORKS Support Volunteer Jeffrey Meyer's Avatar
    Could you please give us a little more background to this problem?
    What are you trying to design?
    Where does your data come from?
    Is there any other format (other than STL) available?
    Is this an aviation project? (The picture you provided looks like a fossilized tooth or a very rusty door handle)

Jeffrey

Quote Originally Posted by Jeffrey Meyer View Post
    Could you please give us a little more background to this problem?
    What are you trying to design?
    Where does your data come from?
    Is there any other format (other than STL) available?