Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Financing an affordable plane, or, is aviation REALLY available to the masses

Financing an affordable plane, or, is aviation REALLY available to the masses

Okay, I'm new to this endeavor, although I have wanted to be a pilot all my life. I am now 51, the kids are all through (or about to be) with college, and I figure it's time to finally pursue my dream. I have been a KitPlanes subscriber and reader for the last 15(?) years. I have joined EAA. I have been a YouTube junky for the last 3 months. I have joined several discussion boards. I have read multiple articles. The one subject that I see a lot of talk about with the EAA movement and the AOPA is they like to claim that PPLs are being opened up to the middle class, especially with the old fleet of Cessnas and Pipers from the 60s being so cheap on Trade-a-plane and the like. These days you can finance your PPL training. Insurance doesn't seem like a huge expense. I was getting excited!

So here is a real-world example of hopes dashed, and I hope someone out there can tell me "it's not that bad... what you experienced is not the norm everywhere you go."