Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camp Scholler: anything under the wheels of a class A?

Camp Scholler: anything under the wheels of a class A?

HI, All;

We recently purchased our first motorhome, a class A Winnie. With all the rains here in DFW over the past few months, we really haven't had a chance to use it, so we're complete newbies on this experience. As a result, this will be our first year in Camp Scholler

So, my question is: do you normally put anything under the wheels of your rig to keep from sinking-in over the course of 10 days, similar to what you do when camping with your plane? I really didn't want to have to bring sections of plywood, and, besides, I'm sure the weight of the rig would crack them. I have wood blocks for the jack pads, but am at a loss for what to use for the wheels.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Carl Orton
    Sonex #1170 / Zenith 750 Cruzer
    http://mykitlog.com/corton

In my years of camping, never noticed anyone putting support under wheels on "big rigs" Look through the Cirrus campsite and they just use the bare ground. During the year we had"Slosh Kosh, EAA used their big John Deere tractor to haul rigs out of the mud.

Bill L

Carl, go a week early and pour a slab. Make it wide enough for your neighbor ! ! ! You'll be a hit !

Quote Originally Posted by martymayes View Post
    Carl, go a week early and pour a slab. Make it wide enough for your neighbor ! ! ! You'll be a hit !
    Yeah; thought about that, but concerned that all those sacks of Quikcrete would put me 'WAY over GVW...

Carl Orton
    Sonex #1170 / Zenith 750 Cruzer
    http://mykitlog.com/corton

Don t forget to use plenty of the special Quikcrete water

Don't the jacks take most of the weight off the wheels?

Maybe some sand bags from Home Depot would work better than plywood. Empty some of the sand so it lays flat.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Berson View Post