Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Insuring Second Hand E-AB Planes

Insuring Second Hand E-AB Planes

I am a student pilot looking to purchase an E-AB plane second hand as I finish my student certificate. I am considering a few different models, including some that are less common.

My major concern if I buy a less common aircraft is, what transition requirements may I face from insurers and (especially if I cannot find a CFI with time in the model) how can I meet them.

Just for clarification, I am mostly looking at Avid Flyers and Clones.

It varies. It will depend on the aircraft and your own experience level. When I bought my Fisher 404 and later my Starduster, both of which were single seat, they only required a verbal checkout from the previous owner, but I only had liability on them, not hull, and I had lots of tailwheel time. When I bought my Hatz, I got hull as well... at first they wanted 1 hour dual with an instructor, but when I pointed out my tailwheel and biplane time, they ammended that to 1 hour with the non CFI seller. Avids and such are pretty conventional; your tailwheel time may be a larger factor.

In some situations they may require a CFI with no time in type to get a checkout himself from the seller or another pilot with time in type. I (not a CFI) once checked a CFI in a Quicksilver because I had recent time in type and the CFI didn't; the CFI was then able to check out the buyer of the Quicksilver.

Quote Originally Posted by thisadviceisworthles View Post
    I am a student pilot looking to purchase an E-AB plane second hand as I finish my student certificate. I am considering a few different models, including some that are less common.

My major concern if I buy a less common aircraft is, what transition requirements may I face from insurers and (especially if I cannot find a CFI with time in the model) how can I meet them.

Just for clarification, I am mostly looking at Avid Flyers and Clones.