Thread: Great article for middle-aged pilots - Keeping that edge.

Great article for middle-aged pilots - Keeping that edge.

Another great blog article by Rod Machado.

The Middle-aged Aviator

I understand the concept. I too have flying anxiety having done most of the stupid things you can in an airplane,,,except the final one.
    I put it down to age, when I was 20 I saw my life as a long stretch out ahead of me,,,,now I am seeing the end and would like to stretch it out as loooonnng as I can.
    But,,,I continue flying safe in the knowledge that I will NOT do any of the aforementioned stupid things again.
    That and I am phobic about finding out why others make the final mistake. As has been said "learn from the mistakes of others, you won't live long enough to make them all yourself".
    I teach and try to pass on my wisdom to my students, and of the 40 I have taught, so far so good.

While I'm middle aged, I'm a new pilot, so a lot of the apprehensions just aren't there.

As a plus, there are a couple of pilots at our airfield in their 70's who still go up and perform aerobatics. Going around the patch in a simple manner seems quite pale in comparison.
    The opinions and statements of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.

I have been flying 50 years. gen av, military, airlines. I am more anxious when I fly these days, but only around the airport. Seems like I am seeing way too many untoward, unwarranted and downright dangerous flying by other pilots on the field and in the pattern. Perhaps it is only my perception, but it sure seems real.