Thread: Pelican vs ibis(or eagle) vs thorpedo vs GA airplane

Pelican vs ibis(or eagle) vs thorpedo vs GA airplane

Hi all,

Anyone have any info, good or bad, on any of these airplanes?
    Which one would you pic?

Fyi: I'm a 120hr pilot from Pennsylvania, most all time in a 172.
    I am in a club, but it is getting over crowed and harder to schedule
    I started seaching for my own airplane and came up with these that would fit 90% of my flying and are in my price range.

Ultravia pelican pl with a 1996 80hp rotax with 230hrs.
    Is the rotax engine an issue since it sat for 10yrs?
    Another member knows the plane and voched for the build quality being excellent
    Member said it was close to flying a Cessna, just easier...I'm assuming close, but would be more rudder dominates due to it being lighter?

Ibis magic 700 (also the eagle EA 100) with a 120hp rotax, 53 hrs on both.
    I could make airstrip on my property for this stol plane, just need to cut alot of trees
    This one still needs finishing work, lights strobes, heater, lot of small things, but is flying
    Wind blew it over before wings and engine were on, damage was repaired
    Had a&p look it over and said damage was done in accordance with how it was built
    Motor bougjt on eBay, had prop strike and was sent out to get checked over and the zipper big bore put in.
    5k more expensive than others, however motor was done last year

Thorpedo t-211 with jabiru 2200 and 153 hrs
    Cool design and supposedly very safe...light weight Cherokee
    Nicest panel and newest equipment
    This is a 2nd gen jabiru, one with the though bolts, lifter, etc.
    Can this be corrected with service bullitens?
    This sat a long time also, issues with that?
    Can only find specs for this plane with o200 on it, how would the 85hp jab compare?

Cessna 150k with 970 hrs on motor, paint and interior good
    The useful load is low