Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some questions about becoming a professional pilot

Some questions about becoming a professional pilot

Hello, I'm a student in high school and I recently became interested about pursuing a professional pilots degree. Most of the things I can find online about this career field are very broad, and I just had several questions I was hoping could be answered for me. These questions are:
    1. How can you get a start as a professional pilot?
    2. How has the career changed as pilot?
    3. With technology advancing every day, what is the outlook for pilots in the coming years?
    4. What's the difference in work environment for commercial as opposed to private?
    5. What are typical hours for a pilot?
    6. Can you maintain a family as a professional pilot?
    7. What is the difference between working for a larger airline or working for a smaller airline?
    8. What are the differences between passenger and cargo pilots?
    9. What are the best schools to attend for a professional pilots degree?
    10. What can I do this summer to get started working toward becoming a pilot?

Any help with these questions would be much appreciated, thank you!
    Nate

10. Get your private pilot license.

1. Get your private pilot license.

Now all you need is some answers for numbers 2-9 from professional pilots... which I am not.
    Measure twice, cut once...
    scratch head, shrug, shim to fit.

Flying an RV-12. I am building a Fisher Celebrity, slowly.

A good read regarding income potential - Google is your friend:

https://www.pea.com/airline-pilot-salary/

https://www.payscale.com/research/US...o_Pilot/Salary
    Last edited by CHICAGORANDY; 01-31-2018 at 04:26 PM.

Hey Nate.

Apply to EAA's Air Academy summer camp. Go to your nearest EAA Chapter and ask if they have any sponsorship support available.

If you email me I can go through your list one item at a time but it would take too long to do it here.

Banned