Thread: Greetings form New Zealand!

Greetings form New Zealand!

Hello everyone, I hope I am posting this in the right forum. My name is Martin Carena, I am originally form Fargo, North Dakota but recently moved to New Zealand due to family stuff. I have been into aviation, specifically older WWI and WWII warbirds since I learned to walk, and am currently working on my PPL. I have been building and flying RC models for 8 years now, and scale plastic kits for around that long as well, and volunteered at the Fargo Air Museum from when I was 8 up until around 16 years old, accumulating around 3500 hours doing so. I was an EAA member under my parents years ago, but now that I am 18 thought I'd create my own account/membership. I wanted to ask a couple questions regarding building an aircraft, specifically an Airdrome Aeroplanes Nieuport 17, as I have been wanting to do that for years now and now that I have some cash saved up, I thought I would join here to get as much advice, research and help as possible before I dove into a project this large. I can post my full questions and reasons I want to build this here if you wish, or in the homebuilts section if that is more appropriate. Well anyway, thanks for any help, and I am very glad to be here on the forums!

Welcome!

You're in the right place, if not the right subforum!

There are three WWI Airdrome projects in the Homebuilder's section, a Fokker DVII, a Nieuport 17, and a Nieuport 11. I'd avoid that last one, as that guy really didn't know what he was doing.

But look at everything, as no one discipline has it all.
    The opinions and statements of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.