Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Legal question

Legal question

I know that pilots log Hobbs time for flight time and mechanics use Tach time for "time in service".
    So when my Operation Limitations Letter says that I must fly 40 hours in Phase I, is it tach or hobbs?
    Big difference.
    Anybody have any guidance on this?

There is no specific regulatory requirement for either. The easy and best answer is, use your watch (which in most cases comes pretty close to Hobbs time).
    Cheers!

Joe

Banned
    I am not a lawyer but I have played one on TV. Joe is right.

The recording of times in your personal logbook and journey log is based on the honour system. You record your times based on whatever device you choose. Depending on what avionics you possess, that can be your watch as Joe said or the digital device on your glass cockpit.

I would probably use the time that I log in my logbook, which by definition begins when the aircraft first moves under its own power with the intention of flight until it comes to a stop after landing.

The FAA doesn't recognize "hobbs" time or "tach" time as an official method of time keeping for any purpose. Those are considered estimates of flight time and time in service which are official FAA terms for recording pilot time and aircraft time as defined in Part 1 of regs.

If forced to make a ruling the most correct legal answer to your question would be "time in service" but either "hobbs" or "tach" would be an acceptable estimate of that time.

Marty is right. "flight time" is time from the time the aircraft first moves for the purpose of flight to the time it comes to rest. Specifically, it's to include taxi time.

Time in service (for the airframe) is time in the air.