Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flying during the eclipse...

Flying during the eclipse...

As a Sport Pilot I'm not allowed to fly at night.

Would I be breaking the rules if I was in the air during the solar eclipse?

Just a trivia question - I plan on driving up into the path with the family for viewing from the ground.
    The opinions and statements of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.

I would think that night means after sunset?

Night is defined in no fewer than four places in the FARs. However, none of them apply to the eclipse. They're all based on sun position with the horizon.

If I recall the FARs defiine night like 30 min after Civil Twilight and 30 min before Civil Sunrise. Unless the have a specific rule just for eclpse I dont see how that would be considered night. Youd still have to have vfr min vis for a sport pilot but shouild have that ok.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Greenwood View Post
    If I recall the FARs defiine night like 30 min after Civil Twilight and 30 min before Civil Sunrise. Unless the have a specific rule just for eclpse I dont see how that would be considered night. Youd still have to have vfr min vis for a sport pilot but shouild have that ok.
    Nope, that's not a definition in use anywhere.

Part 1 defines night as from the end of civil twilight at dusk to the beginning at dawn.

61.31 Night Currency defines it as an hour after sunset to an hour before sunrise. As does 135.247.

91.209 (aircraft lights) and 91.157 (special VFR) as well as Part 105 define it as sunset to sunrise.

103.11 defines it as alternatively sunset/sunrise or 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise.

107.29 has it's own idea as to the definition of civil twilight and what that means for "daytime."