Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Modeling Tubular Frame

Modeling Tubular Frame

I'm wanting to build an accurate model of the tubular frame structure of my plane - essentially reverse engineer what already exists. The Solidworks version that is available for EAA members does not seem to include the "tubing" module. My questions are: does the SW tubing module make this work substantially easier? Any tips on how to proceed without this module? I have some pretty good experience using the basic feature set, but never tackled a tubing project. Any and all help is much appreciated!

Are you saying the Insert|Weldments|Structural Member... menu item and the Weldments toolbar are not there in the EAA version? That would be a huge surprise. I don't have my laptop with me but I can look at my EAA SWx install when I get home.

The Weldment features will be there. But you have to add the tube sizes you are using.

The weldment feature is great for doing tube structures and you can make accurate templates of the mitered joints in a tube structure.

You can download almost all the tubing sizes you'll ever need from VR3's website. And if you follow their guidelines you can send them your model and get them to do the tube fitting for you.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I have never used this feature so I will need to take some time to become familiar with this. I am aware that Solidworks has a module they refer to as "Piping & Tubing" which, I believe, exposes functionality different from the weldments feature and which is not part of the EAA version of SW, but is available in one of the other academic versions. If the weldments feature will allow me to create the tubular frame accurately, then I am good with this – just need to learn a bit more about how this works. I am guessing this all starts with a good mastery of 3D sketching? Again, thanks for the help!
    Last edited by RCS; 06-18-2017 at 01:58 PM.