Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Driving to Airventure

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Driving to Airventure

This is my first time posting and I'm also new to the group so it's very possible I'm doing something wrong. But hey, I can take criticism ! Last year we drove from S.C. to Airventure, not bad but still it's a L O N G trip. Do any of y'all know of a good way to get around Chicago? I know with most cities the time of day or night will have a lot to do with how well the traffic flows so I am wondering if anyone here has some personal experience. Anything to make the experience less stressful. Any advice, ideas, suggestions or smart remarks are welcome.
    Thanks,
    Bob

This is so easy its almost funny..All you do is AVOID Chicago all together. If it was me coming up from SC I would not take that route. Go through Indy then head east on route 72 I believe it is. It's been a long time. IMHO take this route and have a very good trip. This is the route I take out of Central Illinois.

Name:  2017-04-03.jpg
Views: 1204
Size:  19.9 KB

Quote Originally Posted by 1600vw View Post
    This is so easy its almost funny..All you do is AVOID Chicago all together. If it was me coming up from SC I would not take that route. Go through Indy then head east on route 72 I believe it is. It's been a long time. IMHO take this route and have a very good trip. This is the route I take out of Central Illinois.

Name:  2017-04-03.jpg
Views: 1204
Size:  19.9 KB
    i second that fact about going around Chicago. I am not the sharpest crayon, and I made that mistake TWICE. It seemed like it took as long to get through there as the other 1100 miles. It was a parking lot at both 2 pm and 2 am.
    rick

Robert, timing is the key. Plan your trip so you'll go through Chicago between 2 - 4 am. Otherwise, you'll have to add as much as 150 miles to your trip.