Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Glasair III advice

Glasair III advice

Newbie here looking to enter into the experimental airplane world...read a book called Kit Airplane Construction and poked around with some internet research, so I consider myself on the high end of clueless (before the book I was hopeless). That said, friend of a friend has a Glasair III in the box that I am considering purchasing. Started my search for a 4 seater with some speed, and have been studying the RAI-6 but there is little info on them. This Glasair is obviously a two seater but it has the speed I am looking for...I'd be looking for some legs too for ccx mission mostly. So I would appreciate any advice on how to approach this Glasair in a box...I have reached out to Glasair via the web and phone but no luck.
    Last edited by Osprey Rom; 01-25-2017 at 05:41 PM.

Start out by assessing your pilot skill level and experience, and then call an insurance company and ask about coverage. The III is high end performance and requires high end skills. Your brain has to be ready to be ahead of a 250mph airplane that comes down final at perhaps 50% faster than you might be used to. And they are not roomy inside.

We have one locally and I understand the owner has trouble staying ahead of the airplane. Always takes a second pilot.

But first find out whether you are insurable in the airplane.

Best of luck,

Wes

Thanks Wes, have not looked into the insurance piece yet...I'm a pilot by trade, but your points on the performance of the plane well taken...truthfully the only reason the III popped for me was a potential great deal...I'm sure another will come along. In any case, I'll seek one out so I can at least get eyes on...

Rom