Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: iPad Mini

iPad Mini

I'm a rusty pilot that just got my check ride after 16 years! So I went to the local FBO to purchase the Miami & JAX sectionals - no one sells them! So now I'm thinking about a tablet.

My questions are:

Apple or Android, and why?

WIFI or WIFI & Carrier Network and why?

Best Applications for VFR and IFR (Will start working on IFR in March)

Do the new programs correct headings for wind or do I still crank out the old EA-6B?

Cheapest, yet reliable alternative to Foreflight and others popular?

Are there any good on-line training opportunities; free or paid?

Accessories to use in C152 or C172?

Thanks in advance for your input and thoughts!

I would order or print paper. I can't see my iPad mini in bright sun.

Thanks Bill!

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Berson View Post
    I would order or print paper. I can't see my iPad mini in bright sun.

Just today I ordered on a subscription bases Miami and JAX sectionals....

A lot of guys like ForeFlight on an iPad. I've seen it, it's pretty nice, but the price is pretty steep too. I bought a Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 (partly for its absolutely incredible display) with no cellular data. The internal GPS works quite well. It will run Avare, iFly, FltPlan Go, pretty much anything but ForeFlight. I like Avare, but I may buy a subscription for iFly GPS at some point. Avare has downloadable charts and A/FD for free.

I especially like being able to have EVERY chart available, along with the A/FD, ALL the manuals for my plane and engine, radio, EFIS, transponder, ELT, everything. And it will listen to my Stratux setup to show me weather and traffic, if there is someone within a few miles who's got ADS-B out.