Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How much do you let your Young Eagles do?

How much do you let your Young Eagles do?

For those of you who fly Young Eagles, how much do you let them do?

This is my first year flying YE events, and I have only flown 8 kids so far- plus a couple of grandkids, nieces and nephews. Most have been younger, 8 to 14, but one was a high school student. I do the taxi and takeoff, climb out a couple thousand feet, and offer to let them fly for a while. I'll show them how to make turns and keep the nose more or less level and let them take it. If they're flying I usually have them get us back in the vicinity of the airport, then I fly the pattern and land. A couple have not wanted to take the controls... I don't push, if they just want to ride that's perfectly fine.

Just curious whether most of you let them do more or less than that.
    Measure twice, cut once...
    scratch head, shrug, shim to fit.

Flying an RV-12. I am building a Fisher Celebrity, slowly.

Byron J. Covey
    When our chapter had YE events, we agreed to all fly the same route and do the do the same things in flight. That way, when the YE's compared their experiences later, and they certainly do that, none would feel as if he didn't get the full experience. We did not allow them to take the controls.

When flying just a few, I did what you do.

Don't fly YEs any more.

BJC

Unless we've got a big line, what I usually do is put the oldest or most interested kid in the right seat and let them steer for a while. Alternatively we try to find their house or school so they can see it from the air.

Quote Originally Posted by Byron J. Covey View Post

Don't fly YEs any more.
    Nor do I, ..I just don't want to have any more Identity Theft issues.

But I still take kids on orientation flights with their parents permission.

ted