Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sloshing sealer

Sloshing sealer

My friend Bill has an Avid with the integral fiberglass fuel tanks.one of them developed a leak after four yrs, we removed the wing, peeled off the fabric under the tank, cleaned prepped and patched. Now four months later it is leaking again.
    I am suggesting sloshing sealer, I've never used it, read about it, so of course I'm an expert. Not.

Any experts out there who have used it and success?

Thanks

Ray

I'm hardly an expert never having sloshed tanks but everything I've read concerning it seems to lead to the possibility of some of the sloshing material getting loose and plugging fuel lines and strainers. I had a fuel tank that was pin holed on my Chief but replaced the bottom of the tank (aluminum) rather than taking a chance with sloshing. I do know it has been used on old cars, tractors, etc. but they don't fly .
    If God had intended man to fly He would have given us more money!

There was a sloshing sealer (PR-1005L MIL-S-4383) that was popular back in the 1960s and 1970s before the advent of 100LL fuel--it is essentially a rubber compound dissolved in MEK. In those days, aviation fuels (80/87 and 100/130) were made using straight-chain ("aliphatic") hydrocarbon stocks and it worked well. I used it routinely back then.

However, modern fuels have more "aromatic" content (especially auto fuel)--molecules that have more of a solvent action (think benzene, toluene, etc) than straight-chain stocks. In addition, most auto fuels also contain ethanol. So, the experience was that the fuels began to dissolve the PR-1005L; there were stories of people opening up fuel tanks to find the PR-1005L hanging in long strings from the top to the bottom of fuel tanks--definitely a bad thing. In fact, in 2009 a Stewart P-51 crashed in Florida due to sloshing sealer clogging the fuel tank outlet; the pilot was killed.