Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pulling and Pushing a Plane by the Prop?

Pulling and Pushing a Plane by the Prop?

Somewhere in my past - heck, it might have been before I was a pilot - I remember being admonished to never push or pull and aircraft around by its propeller.

It stuck with me for some reason and I've never done it, grabbing the vertical stab, wing strut, flat handing the cowl to push, or in the case of my Nieuport, just grabbing the horizontal stab supports, lifting the entire tail, and walking it around.

Yet I see guys pulling their planes out of hangars or pushing them in by the prop all the time.

Was that just some folksy wisdom, or was it correct?
    The opinions and statements of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.

I was taught by an old mechanic to pull or push at the root of the blade, and don t turn the blade while doing this. Never trust a magneto. If you think about it, what moves the weight of the plane when the engine is running ?

The propeller pulls the plane around the sky, by design. On the other hand, the empennage DOES NOT pull the plane around by design. Just sayin.
    Bryan

Houston

Pushing a conventional gear aircraft backwards is a bit like pushing a wet noodle. Just sayin.
    The opinions and statements of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.

As a safety matter, I would generally keep my hands and body away from the prop and out of its arc, despite the often shown photos of someone absently minded posing leaning on a prop, even veteran pilots who should know better.
    I would not push on one blade, and if needed to push a two blade prop would do it at the hub only. Iwouldnt push on one blade or even two of a 3 blade or 4 blade prop.