Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Installation FAQs

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    EAA Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    55

    Installation FAQs

    I'm going to post updates here on issues and fixes with SOLIDWORKS installation:

    ISSUE FIX
    I need to Renew my license to SW Uninstall your expired version. You will not lose your saved designs. To do this, go to your computer’s Start menu and search for Add or Remove Programs. An alphabetical list of programs should appear. Find SOLIDWORKS and select Remove to uninstall SOLIDWORKS. If it doesn't completely uninstall and you are having problems installing the new one, check out the instructions below.
    I uninstalled the old SW and when I installed the new one it says files are missing. You left the old activation key in the installation program activation key window and the program is trying to install 2016. Overwrite the activation key that appears in the form fields with the new one you received from DS SolidWorks via email.
    Did not receive 24-digit Key from SOLIDWORKS Takes 5 seconds to 5 minutes; check spam and bulk folders; Yahoo and Comcast block from sender and Outlook has issues so try Gmail but check your Spam folder for the email. Email Cory Puuri to request and include your EAA# in the email.
    SOLIDWORKS form prefills Serial # You have remnants of an old SOLIDWORKS version on your computer; read this post on the SOLIDWORKS forums for a fix.
    Received Key after installing and want to add full EAA Maker Edition You need to "Modify" your license. Here is a post that explains the process.
    Need to transfer license to another computer Transfer: Help > Transfer License returns the license to the SolidWorks activation server; Help > Activate Licenses activates the license on the new computer
    License key doesn't work with modules You can only use the license key to activate SOLIDWORKS Student Design Kit - EAA Maker Edition.This version does not include all of the modules in the commercial versions of SOLIDWORKS. For a comparison, please take a look at this chart. We are working on getting an upgrade to the Student Engineering Kit, which may resolve this issue.
    Error the Student Version has expired 1) Open File Explorer and go to C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet.
    2) Rename the FLEXnet folder to something like FLEXnet_old.
    PLEASE NOTE: The ProgramData folder is a hidden folder. You can either use 'Folder options' to show hidden folders, or you can type C:\ProgramData directly on to the address bar and then press Enter to access this folder. From there you will be able to locate the FLEXnet folder.
    3) Try again to activate the license.
    Error files are corrupted or missing Check out/complete the instructions on performing a clean uninstall (include Registry Edits) and reinstall.
    Error 1722 Check out/complete this fix suggested by GSC.

    Other FAQs from the SOLIDWORKS Forum
    Activation FAQs from DS SOLIDWORKS
    Last edited by Cory Puuri; 09-08-2017 at 11:38 AM.

  2. #2
    SOLIDWORKS Support Volunteer Jeffrey Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    104
    I have a fully paid up commercial licence, so this explains why I can't get the educational key.
    Thanks.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    2
    How do I specify a different installation directory, and different data directories for / during installation?
    I am using a SSD for my C: drive and do not want to use it for this application?

  4. #4
    SOLIDWORKS Support Volunteer
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike_G View Post
    How do I specify a different installation directory, and different data directories for / during installation?
    I am using a SSD for my C: drive and do not want to use it for this application?
    You can change it in the Installation Manager. See attached image.

    Attachment 5672
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    14
    I am grappling with an upgrade to an nVidia Quadro M4000 video card. Seems the GTX 1070 software is not up to Solidworks support standards even with 8 gb. Is that correct. Secondly should a dedicated SSD be attached to install and utilize fasts thru-put with a SATA6 bus?

  6. #6
    SOLIDWORKS Support Volunteer
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by John Cox View Post
    I am grappling with an upgrade to an nVidia Quadro M4000 video card. Seems the GTX 1070 software is not up to Solidworks support standards even with 8 gb. Is that correct. Secondly should a dedicated SSD be attached to install and utilize fasts thru-put with a SATA6 bus?

    Try out SolidWorks with what you have before making changes to your system. SolidWorks will likely work just fine with your current setup. Unless you are doing huge models you will likely be fine.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    14
    Jeffrey, with your willingness to help and the inherent Time Zone differences, What hours GMT do you work at your job? Versus - What is the best time you might be online? I am operating in the US on the West Coast PST. I have loaded in to my World Clock - Israel Time to keep me honest. At the moment it says 8:30 at night your time.

    John Cox at the beginning of a great journey

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1
    Can we install our EAA Solidworks license in a desktop and a laptop for the same user? Many high-end software packages allow this. It keeps the user from having to deactivate/reactivate the program between the two computers when traveling or going back and forth to the hangar.

    Jim

  9. #9
    cwilliamrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    93
    I don't know about the EAA version but the normal product can be installed exactly as you describe.

  10. #10
    EAA Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
    Can we install our EAA Solidworks license in a desktop and a laptop for the same user? Many high-end software packages allow this. It keeps the user from having to deactivate/reactivate the program between the two computers when traveling or going back and forth to the hangar.

    Jim
    You can install on another device that you own.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •