Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IFR in experimental/homebuilt - new to homebuilt world

IFR in experimental/homebuilt - new to homebuilt world

Hi All,

I am new to the world of homebuilts/experimentals. My question is, if I build a a homebuilt from kit, what are the requirements for it to be legal for IFR operations? Is it the same as a normal certificated aircraft? As in just equipment? Or are there some homebuilts that are not acceptable to the FAA for IFR ops no matter the installed equipment?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by pa24-180 View Post
    ... if I build a a homebuilt from kit, what are the requirements for it to be legal for IFR operations?
    In most cases, the Operating Limitations (issued with the Airworthiness Certificate) for the aircraft will state something along the lines of:

"Unless equipped for night and/or IFR flight per CFR 14, part 91.205, this aircraft is restricted to day VFR flight only".

So, basically, if you get the AC for the aircraft and then equip it per the requirements of 91.205, you're good to go. Some aircraft obviously make better IFR platforms than others, but the FAA is not cognizant of any of that information, generally.

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Zeitlin View Post
    In most cases, the Operating Limitations (issued with the Airworthiness Certificate) for the aircraft will state something along the lines of:

"Unless equipped for night and/or IFR flight per CFR 14, part 91.205, this aircraft is restricted to day VFR flight only".
    If that is most cases, then in what kind of cases would one expect that the airworthiness certificate would not have that clause? Or is it the case that almost every AWC would have that clause except for very very rare circumstances?

If that is most cases, then in what kind of cases would one expect that the airworthiness certificate would not have that clause?