Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first W&B, 1320 is crazy.

Rolls Eyes My first W&B, 1320 is crazy.

I am a new sport-student pilot, who calculated his first W&B tonight for my next lesson. I can now appreciate the absurdity of the 1320 lbs limit. Both my CFI and I weigh in at 180'something pounds each, average size males by any measure. With nothing more than just our headsets and kneeboards, we're lucky to legally go up with barely half a tank of fuel. By my calculations you'd have to weigh in at maybe 100 lbs for two people to fly with a full tank in a skycatcher.

My question is does anyone know whether efforts are being made to have this ridiculous (my opinion) rule changed? I read the putative justifications for the number, but it all still seems very arbitrary to me. Just a couple of more hundred pounds seem more reasonable. Enough to allow a couple of average size guys to fly with full fuel.

Don't misunderstand me, I am grateful for the sport pilot opportunity, and appreciate the efforts that went into designing this entryway. In fact, I wouldn't be taking lessons if this option were not available, I am not interested in the additional privileges (night, long distance, etc) that come from a PPL. And yet I feel there's ample room for improvement regarding some of the SPL restrictions.

Happy flying all!
    Last edited by Jndz1010; 07-05-2016 at 10:45 PM.

While I can sympathize with you, I dont see it as an issue. I weigh 145 and my instructor is around 180, we normally fly with 3/4 tanks and have never been short on fuel. Light Sport is a trade off. If you don't like the limitations I would recommend private pilot. If you can't fly as a private pilot, be grateful (like you said) that sport pilot exists. You can also look for other LSA'S.
    “It's the greatest shot of adrenaline to be doing what you have wanted to do so badly. You almost feel like you could fly without a plane.”

-Charles Lindbergh

Quote Originally Posted by Jndz1010 View Post