Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camp Scholler newbie questions

Camp Scholler newbie questions

I'm new to RVing and I have a couple of questions about staying at Camp Scholler.

It sounds like most sites don't have hookups and that there are restrictions on generators. I obviously can't run the A/C off the battery so am I just going to be hot unless I'm one of the lucky ones with a hookup? My fifth-wheel doesn't have a generator. I can get one if I need to but it's not going to help if it's hot/humid during quiet hours.

The Camp Scholler website says "Advance purchase provides the convenience of express registration at the campground entrance" which basically sounds like faster check-in. Do I need to make reservations way in advance or can I just reserve a few days before I arrive? Basically, does it fill up or can I procrastinate and play it by ear?

It says "all days must be purchased from the time of purchase through Sunday, July 31." If I leave before July 31, do I get a refund on unused days?

Are there any pull-through spaces?

Thanks,

-Paul

Hi Paul,

There are no pull throughs, but there are utility sites (back in). They cost twice the normal rate though, and they go quickly. So you'll want to reserve early. You will have to pay from the time of your reservation through the end of the show (min 3 days). But if you leave early, they'll refund the difference on the way out.

Beyond that, there is a 24-hour generator section, but since I've not camped there, I'm not sure how big it is or how many units it will hold. But that's your other option if utility camping is unavailable.

I've dry camped every year since starting there, so I'm used to it now :-)
    Christopher Owens (EAA #808438, VAA #723276)
    Germantown, WI
    Bearhawk Plans #991, Bearhawk Patrol Plans #P313