Thread: Educating non-IFR pilots...

Educating non-IFR pilots...

So I was out at the airport mucking about with my analog basic six pack LSA compliant plane (which is good, since I'm a Sport Pilot) and saw a fellow with a big fancy Piper pulled out of his hangar waaayyy on the end of the field looking like he was fixing to do something aviation.

Naturally I walked down there and after introducing myself stood there in full doggie beg mode - eyes big, paws in front, panting - and asked where he was going.

"Just going up to do an approach."

[Whimper pant pant]

"Wanna ride along?"

[Woof! I mean, "yes, sir, that would be fine."]

So up we go in this Space Shuttle (meaning the avionics are a mish-mash of old and new) and Dave does an instrument approach after flying waaayyyy out there, talking me through the process and procedures.

Quite enlightening and worth more than your average "round the patch" ride. The pilot explained that he does at least one IFR approach and landing a month in good weather as insurance against when he might need to do one in bad weather, and for him it's as much fun as touch and goes in a Champ for me. Naturally he totally greased it in every way by hand, not using the autopilot gizmos.

Other than just filling up this forum, there's actually a point to this post.

For a Sport Pilot type like me I've been slightly mystified by folks flying in using IFR. While a good pilot will use distance and direction, some spout out waypoints (and I always come back and ask them where they are), but now at least I'll have a basic understanding of where they are and more importantly where to look for them in the air. And since it's published, I can look at the IFR pathways at frequently used airfields and put them in a mental map of the airspace.

So if you're instrument rated and are going up to shoot a landing, take along one of the low and slow VFR scrubs like me up with you. It just helps everyone out.