Thread: Crooked Spar

Crooked Spar

Just opened a box of spars for a Hatz CB-1 project. The four fronts are fine but two of the rear spars have a belly in them. One is 3/16" and the other is 1/8" both being in the vertical. That'll be enough to be detectable in the finished product, will it not? Being a first time builder, I'm wondering if I should be squawking to the provider or is this the norm. 43-13 doesn't address straightness that I have found. Any input would surely be appreciated.

Sarpy Sam

Wood is interesting stuff. Not as stable as plastics or metals.

Two points.

First, how different would the humidity at Wicks warehouse be from where you are? If you are in the desert vs their upper midwest location, the stock may move again as it acclimates to the moisture content of your environment. This takes a little time.

Second, is the stock oversize? If it is, it likely can be planed to take out the curve. If not, then you will likely want replacements shipped.

Best of luck,

Wes

Quote Originally Posted by WLIU View Post
    First, how different would the humidity at Wicks warehouse be from where you are?
    The East St Louis area is normally pretty humid, but this year has been very bad in central & southern Illinois. To quote Forrest Gump "One day it started raining, and it didn't quit for 4 months". Yes, it has been that bad.

Thanks for the feed back. I needed a 3 11/16" spar out of 3 3/4" stock so there's not enough to take it out and Wes, how did you know it came from Wicks? The humidity deal could be an issue but I have six that are very nice and perfectly straight and two with the belly in them. Eastern Mt is drier I'm sure but we're at 60% today which is the exception. 10-20% is more normal.
    Sarpy Sam

First... Can't understand "Belly"

It could have a "Crown" or "Sweep"

Belly sounds like some Bulge...

A "Sweep" is a Non issue... Ribs and Cross braces will handle this easy...