Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Camping question

Camping question

All,
    I am going to be driving in this year without my trailer so I will be needing to buy a tent and accessories. I am NOT a tent camper and I have very little experience with what is needed to do this. Can anyone give me some advice on tent features and other items that will keep me from suffering while I am there?
    Your advice and experiences are GREATLY appreciated!
    Rick

You'll probably find people have lots of opinions on it, but in 25 years of camping at Oshkosh, I can tell you that I've gone through more than a few different tents. The one we've been using the last five years or so is the Cabelas Alaskan Guide dome tent. We have the 8 man for the wife and me because it gives us plenty of room to stand up and have stuff besides our cots. The advantage of this tent is it stands up pretty well to the inevitable Oshkosh thunder and wind storm that hits at least once every year during the show. It's easy to set up and take down. In fact, if you wander over to where we camp, you'll find a little compound made up of nearly a dozen of these tents in various sizes. It's popular among our volunteer group.

You can order online or there are Cabelas stores in Green Bay (right by Lambeau Field) and between Milwaukee and Fond Du Lac. I've made shopping runs to both over the years.

Be sure to secure the tent, leads and stakes. It will storm at some point in the week, don't let your tent blow over! I also pack my clothing in some sort of waterproof container. Used to do ziplocs, now I use a rubbermade tote.