Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aviation Colleges

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Goggles Aviation Colleges

I am currently in High School and have a passion for aviation. I am a student pilot currently and know I want to go into aviation in my future. Right now I am looking at either aerospace engineering or a pilot. What are some reccomendations for colleges out there? Some I have looked at are Embry Ridde (The Daytona Beach Campus) and North Dakota University, what are some opinions on these? I live in Kentucky and would like to not go to far away for college so around there would be great!

Thanks, can't wait to hear what everyone has to say!

I got both my Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Aerospace Engineering at ERAU Daytona, so I'd highly recommend that if you decide to pursue the engineering route. The low student/professor ratio makes all of the professors very available for questions, help, etc. You will not get that at larger schools. You would also be around many other people who are passionate about aviation. If you have any more specific questions about ERAU, feel free to send me a PM and I'll do my best to answer them.

For piloting, Southern Illinois University has an aviation program, so does Purdue.

For engineering, (at least when I went there) Rose Hulman Institute of Technology (Terre Haute) had a BSME program in which you could concentrate in aerospace. (I just did the regular ME track as the advanced Aero courses take a lot of higher math that I wasn't so good at)

(Purdue has an Aerospace engineering program also, but who wants to go to the second best engineering school in Indiana?? )

University of Central Missouri.

http://www.ucmo.edu/aviation/