Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Glasair 1rg build time

Glasair 1rg build time

Hi there,
    I was curious about a partially complete glasair 1rg kit that I found for sale and started googling around for info, but I haven't been able to find the estimated time it would take to complete the whole aircraft. If anyone could please tell me, that would be great. Thanks

Really hard to say. What stage of completion is it now? How experienced are you with building? Those are more important questions in my view. Glasair I's are pretty lengthy builds by today's kit standards but if it's well along it might be much less in terms of time. If it is well along, how confident are you in your ability to pick up the project midstream? Glasairs are great planes, lots of fun to build, but you asked a tough question in this case.

The advertisement says the plane is about 50% complete. It is still missing an engine, instruments, and interior. I am still a student pilot but my father and I are both fairly good with tools, however this would be our first aircraft build.
    Last edited by amiller; 11-20-2014 at 08:05 PM.

I would recomend going and finding someone near you that is building a glasair. Spend some time asking questions and carefully looking at the process. If you conclude that it is something you want to do, then go for it.

OK. Thanks

I would plan 2000-2500 man hrs to complete the project. Of course, I'm optimistic.