Thread: Question About Working in the Vintage Aircraft Maintenance/Restoration Industry

Question About Working in the Vintage Aircraft Maintenance/Restoration Industry

Hi Everyone,

I'm not 100% sure this is the right place to post this question but thought I'd give it a try. I am a recent college graduate with a B.S. in Aerospace Engineering, currently preparing to acquire my Airframe & Powerplant Certification. My goal is to work in the aviation industry, specifically in the field of restoration and maintenance of vintage aircraft. Does anyone here have any experience or advice they would be willing to pass along that could help me in this? If anyone on here currently works in that field, is there anything you wish you'd known when you were breaking into that business?

Thanks!

I don't work in the field, but I fly a vintage and volunteer in my local air museum. I strongly recommend finding your closest air museum and volunteering in a restoration project. Even if you only have a few hours occasionally, it will be appreciated and is much-needed. You'll get some real world experience and make lots of acquaintances who can offer you good contacts and advice.

Being in Northern Virginia, the nearest air museum which is the National Air And Space Museum. While there are a few historical volunteers in the restoration facility (these are guys who have been around for 20 years) the current person in charge is steadfastly opposed to taking on volunteers in that area regardless of their qualifications. Many at the museum have been pressuring them to change this. The next closest museum is down in Richmond, I believe. There are however some CAF and smaller museum opportunities he might be able to get in with (CAF at CJR, there's a group up at HGR, etc...).